University at Buffalo, The State University of New York distinguished Professor Emeritus of Pharmaceutical Sciences Gerhard Levy was a pioneer and leading contributor in the areas of pharmacokinetics and clinical pharmacokinetics.

The Gerhard Levy Lecture Series is held annually in recognition of the significant contributions Levy made in his fields of study and to honor a beloved friend and esteemed colleague who deftly balanced his love of teaching with robust research.

2017 guest speaker is Jean-Michel Scherrmann, PharmD, PhD, Professor in the Department of Pharmacokinetics, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Paris Descartes.

Jean-Michel Scherrmann received his PharmD and PhD in analytical radiochemistry from the University Paris Descartes. He led the Neuropsychopharmacology Unit at the French Institute of Health and Medical Research (INSERM) and the National Center of Scientific Research (CNRS) from 2002 to 2013. He has been Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy at University Paris Descartes since 2012 and Professor at the National Institute of Nuclear Sciences and Techniques. Prof Scherrmann has made major contributions in the development of drug radioimmunoassays, drug detoxification by immunotherapy, and drug redistribution concepts in pharmacokinetics. He pioneered the first clinical application of colchicine immunotherapy for acute overdoses and was an early leader in therapeutic antibody PK/PD relationships. His research now focuses on drug transporters in neuropharmacokinetics and drug delivery strategies to the brain. His work has resulted in 2 patents, 350 scientific articles, 35 book chapters, and over 250 invited presentations. He has served on the editorial boards of several journals in the analytical and pharmaceutical sciences and is presently Associate Editor of the AAPS Journal. He has mentored over 30 postgraduate and 47 doctoral students. Prof Scherrmann was recipient of the 1992 American Academy of Clinical Toxicology Award, the 1999 French National Academy of Medicine Achievement Award, and the James Gillette Award from ASPET in 2005. He is a Fellow of AAPS and a member of the French National Academy of Pharmacy. He was visiting Professor of Tohoku University (Japan) Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2008 and awarded Honoured Member of the French Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics Group in 2014.